At the ISTH 2019 Congress Opening Ceremony, Alisa Wolberg, Ph.D., will accept the Robert P. Grant Medal, on behalf of J. Evan Sadler, M.D., Ph.D., in recognition of his outstanding accomplishments in the field of thrombosis and hemostasis. Sadler was notified of the honor in November, 2018, prior to his death from a rapidly progressive neurodegenerative disease on December 13, 2018. He was 67.

The Grant Medal is the highest honor of the ISTH and honors research achievements, organizational activities, support of research activities, facilitation of institutional cooperation and communication, unusual teaching or educational initiatives and/or the development of concepts that result in a clearer understanding of research data.

Sadler was a Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics as well as Chief of the Hematology Division at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri, U.S. Throughout his career, Sadler pioneered the study of several blood coagulation factors and is an extraordinary mentor, having trained a number of world leaders in academic hematology and hemostasis.

Sadler’s keen intellect and compassionate guidance of trainees in his laboratory has led to major contributions in the understanding of thrombin structure and function, and its interaction with the regulatory protein, thrombomodulin. His laboratory has also made important advances in the molecular and genetic characterization of von Willebrand factor (VWF) and ADAMTS13, where his biochemical studies elucidated the key functional domains of VWF and their interactions with the platelet receptor glycoprotein Ib and the regulatory protease ADAMTS13. His laboratory also explained the molecular basis for a range of clinical subtypes of von Willebrand disease (VWD), leading to improved diagnosis of this common bleeding disorder, as well as the development of diagnostic guidelines and rational approaches for treating VWD and thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura (TTP).

Beyond his scientific achievements, Sadler made extraordinary and selfless contributions to the hemostasis and thrombosis community and held major leadership positions in multiple organizations. Within the ISTH, he served as Scientific and Standardization Committee (SSC) Chair of the Subcommittee on von Willebrand Factor (1994-1997), Chair of the Working Party on vWD Classification (2003-2006), Member of the SSC Executive Council (1996-2002) and Senior Advisory Council of the SSC (1998-present), Chair of the Standing Committee on Publications (1998-2003), and Secretary General (2014-2018).

Sadler also served as Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Hemostasis (1998), scientific program co-chair for the Annual Meeting of the American Society of Hematology (ASH) in 2008, and President of ASH in 2011.

In recognition of his outstanding leadership, service, and contributions to hematology research, he received numerous major awards, including the ISTH Biennial Award for Contributions to Hemostasis Investigator Recognition Award (1995, 1997) and Distinguished Career Award (2001).

About the Grant Medal
This medal is named after Robert P. Grant, a renowned cardiologist who spent many years as a representative of the National Institutes of Health in Europe, traveling extensively and facilitating American-European collaboration in medical research and education.

Previous awardees include:

2017 Jack Hirsh
2015 Denisa D. Wagner
2013 Charles T. Esmon
2011 Désiré Collen
2009 Hidehiko Saito
2007 Uri Seligsohn
2005 Dominique Meyer
2003 Yale Nemerson
2001 Pier M. Mannucci
1999 Jan J. Sixma
1997 Kenneth G. Mann
1995 Harold R. Roberts
1993 Marc Verstraete
1991 Samuel I. Rapaport
1989 Earl W. Davie
1987 J. Fraser Mustard
1985 Kenneth M. Brinkhous
1983 Ernst Luscher
1980 Oscar Ratnoff
1979 Jacques Caen
1977 Sol Sherry
1975 R.G. Macfarlane

Share this story, choose your platform!